Language/Idioma: English  es-bw

The Immigration Advocates Network, Immigrant Legal Resource Center, and Public Counsel invite you to join a free webinar, "Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals in Practice," on Wednesday, September 12th, 2012 at 2:00 pm Eastern / 1:00 pm Central / 12:00 pm Mountain / 11:00 am Pacific. This webinar will cover DACA eligibility, screening for criminal history and other immigration relief, putting together a DACA request, and practice tips. The panelists are Angie Junck and Mark Silverman of the Immigrant Legal Resource Center and Kristen Jackson of Public Counsel.

To register for this free webinar, visit After registering you will receive a confirmation email containing information on joining the webinar.

If you have questions, please email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

The largest rollback in voting rights in over a century is now underway. A wave of restrictive laws passed in 13 states will mean that next year as many as 5 million Americans could find voting difficult, and even impossible. With even more states considering such legislation, the voting rights of over 21 million Americans nationwide could come under attack. In 2011, 38 states proposed legislation designed to make it harder to vote at every step of the process. New laws restrict the forms of ID allowed to vote, reduce early voting, place restrictions on voter registration, and deny voting rights to Americans with criminal records who have paid their debt to society—measures that disproportionately impact African Americans, Latinos, senior citizens, people with disabilities, and young voters.

Sign this petition to Attorney General Eric Holder asking the Justice Department to enforce the Voting Rights Act and intervene to stop discriminatory voting laws.

The Mexican American Studies program in the Tucson Unified School District is facing the real threat of being shut down.  The program successfully keeps otherwise-disengaged students motivated to learn and go on to college by using curriculum with which they culturally identify to teach critical thinking skills and empower the students to be strong leaders in their communities. Join the 11 teachers and administrators from the Mexican American Studies program and two of its students to defend the program. 

Sign the Save Ethnic Studies petition to show your support and we’ll keep you updated on the progress of the lawsuit against the Arizona Superintendent of Public Instruction and the State Board of Education.